Honorary Members

Honorary Members of the Scientific and Medical Network

CapraFritjof, Dr. (US), physicist and systems theorist, founding director of the Center for Ecoliteracy in Berkeley, California, and on the faculty of Schumacher College.

Dossey, Larry, MD, (US), physician and author on the healing power of prayer, spirituality, and other non-physical factors.

DysonFreeman, Prof. FRS(US), English-born American theoretical physicist and mathematician, known for his work in quantum electrodynamics, solid-state physics, astronomy and nuclear engineering. Former professor of physics at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton.

Grof, Stanislav, MD, (USA), is a Czech psychiatrist, one of the founders of the field of transpersonal psychology and a researcher into the use of non-ordinary states of consciousness for purposes of exploring, healing, and obtaining growth and insights into the human psyche.

Habgood, John, Lord,Rt. Revd. and Rt. Hon. PC, (UK), theologian and scientist, former Archbishop of York and Bishop of Durham.

Houghton, John, Sir, FRS, (UK), former professor of atmospheric physics at Oxford and Head of the UK Meteorological Office, co-chair of the Nobel Peace Prize winning Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s scientific assessment working group.

Josephson, Brian, FRS, (UK), a Welsh theoretical physicist and professor emeritus of physics at the University of Cambridge.

Laszlo, Ervin, Dr. (Italy) Hungarian philosopher of science, systems theorist, integral theorist, originally a classical pianist – author of over 70 books and founding president of the Club of Budapest.

 Le Shan, Lawrence, Dr. (US), psychologist and author of over a dozen books.

Nasr, Seyyed Hossein, Prof. (US), Iranian University Professor of Islamic studies at George Washington University, and an Islamic philosopher, author of many books.

Penrose, Roger, Sir, OM, FRS, (UK), mathematical physicist and philosopher of science, former Rouse Ball professor of mathematics at Oxford.

Polkinghorne, John, Sir, KBE, FRS, (UK), former Cambridge professor of mathematical physics and President of Queens’ College. Anglican priest and theologian, winner of the Templeton Prize.

Radin, Dean, Dr, (USA) has been Senior Scientist at the Institute of Noetic Sciences (IONS), in Petaluma, California, USA, since 2001, served on dissertation committees at Saybrook Graduate School and Research Center, and former President of the Parapsychological Association. He is also co-editor-in-chief of the journal Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing.

Ravindra, Ravi, Prof. (Canada), professor emeritus at Dalhousie University in Halifax (Canada) where he served for many years as a professor in the departments of Comparative Religion, Philosophy, and of Physics. He was a Member of the Institute of Advanced Study in Princeton

Sahtouris, Elisabet, Prof. (USA), internationally known evolution biologist and futurist, speaking on all five continents; teaching living Economies and Navigating our Current Crises. Currently a professor in residence at Chaminade University in Honolulu.

Schlitz, Marilyn, Dr, (USA), is a social anthropologist, researcher, award winning writer, and charismatic public speaker. She serves as President Emeritus and a Senior Fellow at the Institute of Noetic Sciences. 

Sheldrake, Rupert, Dr, (UK), a biologist and author, is best known for his hypothesis of morphic fields and morphic resonance, which leads to a vision of a living, developing universe with its own inherent memory.

Tart, Charles, Dr, (USA), an American psychologist and parapsychologist known for his psychological work on the nature of consciousness, as one of the founders of the field of transpersonal psychology, and for his research in parapsychology.

Tickell, Crispin, Sir, GCMG, KCVO, FZS, (UK), diplomat, environmentalist, and academic. Former ambassador to the UN, Warden of Green College, Oxford, Chancellor of the University of Kent and President of the Royal Geographical Society

Wallace, Alan, Prof. (USA), trained as a Tibetan Buddhist monk, ordained by H.H. the Dalai Lama, for whom he has often served as an interpreter. He is the founder and president of the Santa Barbara Institute for Consciousness Studies.

Zaragoza, Federico, Mayor, Dr. (Spain) scientist, scholar, politician, diplomat, and poet. He served as Director-General of UNESCO from 1987 to 1999.


Bohm, David, Prof. FRS (1917-1992) was one of the most significant theoretical physicists of 20th century with his own ontological interpretation of quantum mechanics. His book Wholeness and the Implicate Order was enormously influential, and he conducted some well-known dialogues with Krishnamurti. Later in his life he became very concerned with language and communication, developing an innovative process of dialogue.

Carazo, Rodrigo, Dr. (1926-2009) was President of Costa Rica from 1978 to 1982 and was the founder of the University for Peace.

Harman, Willis, Prof. (1918-1997) was an American engineer, social scientist, academic, futurist, writer, and visionary. He worked at SRI International and was President of the Institute of Noetic Sciences.

MidgleyMary, Dr. (UK), prolific moral philosopher known for her work on science, ethics and animal rights.

Mitchell, Edgar, Dr.(1930-2016) was the sixth man on the moon and Founder of the Institute of Noetic Sciences.

Peat, David, Dr. (1938-2017), Canadian holistic scientist, biographer of David Bohm and founder of the Pari Centre.

Pribram, Karl, Prof. (1919-2015), was an eminent neurophysiologist who developed the holographic theory of mind. He was the first recipient of the prestigious European Havel Prize for “his fundamental contribution to the understanding of science as an integral part of general culture”. He spoke at Mystics and Scientists in the early 1980s. See www.karlpribram.com

Prigogine, Ilya, Vicomte, Prof. (1917-2003), Nobel Laureate and developer of the nonlinear theory of dissipative structures and who was a pioneer of research in complex systems.

Skolimowski, Henryk, Prof. (1930-2018), Professor emeritus of philosophy at the University of Michigan and pioneer of eco-philosophy.